So I decided to start a blog…

I’m not one to write down what is happening in my life or to share details with the public but, here goes nothing! I have just finished my first year at Auburn University and man, has it been one of the quickest years of my life. The start of my Auburn experience began with one Facebook message.

My future [and current] roommate, CG, messaged me on Facebook asking if I wanted to room with her. Little did I know that my response would turn into one of the sweetest friendships that I have and be one of the best years of my life to date. CG and I were so awkward when we wanted to hangout before we were forced to live in a dorm with NO privacy. Once we were thrown into the Auburn atmosphere and were living in Dowdell–what I consider to be the best dorm on campus [mostly because of the memories made there], we quickly realized that it was just the two of us, no one else. The best decision we made [besides going to Auburn, of course] was to head on over to the Auburn BCM for a movie night.

The Auburn BCM is where CG and I met our first Auburn friends and where I met a very important person, A. A is kind, funny, and one of my closets friends. She was the person who offered CG and I a ride to First Baptist Opelika [FBO]. We also had a weekly Bible Study with our other friends. It was great fellowship, but I wasn’t totally sure if that was it for me. If that was the plan the Lord had for me or if it was something that I created for myself [which happens quite often, but that’s a post for another day]. I continued to attend FBO every Sunday and Wednesday which was crucial to my relationship with the Lord. FBO will always have a special place in my heart.

FBO has contributed immensely to my walk with the Lord and having fellowship with other believers. I love every minute of going to church on Sunday mornings, getting lunch afterwards, and attending 8th Street on Wednesday nights. The messages that spoke to me the most were the Q & A messages at 8th Street during my spring semester. The layout of 8th Street was worship through music then we transitioned over to worship through studying His word. The Q & A topics were topics that aren’t usually discussed in the church or in general because they are sometimes too much to comprehend [when they are too much to comprehend, it shows how magnificent God is]. The topics included Heaven, Hell, Angels, Demons, and Creation. We also prayed in small groups after the message which was so important for my relationship with God.

Prayer is how I communicate with my Savior and just talk to Him. Prayer is so powerful and it has been evident that the Lord has answered my prayers all throughout my Freshman year. The summer before I moved to Auburn, CG and I were earnestly praying for suite mates who have relationships with the Lord or who are open to developing one with Him. The Lord provided. Our suite mates K and CS had attended a Christian High School and were followers of the Lord. It was so sweet how the four of us were able to sit on the floor of one of our rooms and be able to talk about how each of us were praying for each other. Also, over Christmas Break, I prayed for more friends who are actively seeking after the Lord and to be able to get closer with my suite mate, CS. AGAIN, the Lord provided. CS and I were praying for each other once again to become closer friends. I mean after all, we do share a bathroom so it would make sense to get to know each other more.

CS told me that she was going to an Auburn gymnastics meet and I of course didn’t want to sit in my dorm room on a Friday night so I went. I hopped in the car with people I didn’t know [it’s not as sketchy as it sounds, trust me] but I also didn’t know how much they would mean to me. That night, my prayers had been answered. I had made friends who accepted me and who loved the Lord more than anything. Ever since I decided to get out of my comfort zone, it has been an awesome experience and I am forever thankful for my pals, man.

“And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19

“Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.” Matthew 6:31-32

“If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.” John 15:7

Leave a Reply

