The Lord Our God Is Ever Faithful

For the past few weeks I have been uneasy about everything. Moving away from home for the summer [I’m a huge home-body] and my lifeguard test. There was a point the day before I moved in to Shocco where I questioned if this was what God wanted me to do and if this was where He wanted me to serve this summer. A big part of this was due to the fact that I didn’t believe that I could pass my lifeguard class/test [which I did, PRAISE HIM!!!!]. I had many people tell me that I could do it and send me Bible verses that calmed me and that showed that strength comes from the Lord, not from me.

14 For this reason I kneel before the Father, 15 from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name. 16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Ephesians 3: 14-21

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:6-7

I was so stressed out because we started with the prerequisites–swim 300 yards CONTINUOUSLY, swim and dive for a 10 lb ball, and tread water for 2 minutes using only our legs. Thankfully, I was able to practice at C’s house, but I had not tried the continuous swim because I simply could not do it. BUT reciting Philippians 4:6-7 the entire time I was swimming kept me at peace. Also, it was a blessing to be able to get the job at Shocco after all that I went through and I knew that it was in the Lord’s plan that this was where I was to be this summer [and because He does not set up His children to fail]. After we finished the class and we got our certification cards, I had never felt more relieved in my life.

Everyday leading up to the class, I prayed for the strength and ability to complete my certification and if this was in His plan and that I wasn’t trying to fit it into my life against His will. Honestly, the hardest part of living as a follower of Christ in a broken world for me is knowing if what I’m doing is honoring God’s plan for me. Discerning the will of God is tough, but by staying in the Word and by actively seeking after Him, it will be easier to know if it is from God or from the enemy. My goal/plan for this summer is to deepen my relationship with the Lord by reading about Him in the Word, completely relying on Him in EVERYTHING, and preparing for my trip to Haiti to go and show others the love of my Father. I know that where I am, what I’ll be doing this summer, my successes, and where I will go this summer is all because of Him and it is all for His glory because He is deserving of it. THE LORD OUR GOD IS EVER FAITHFUL and He has shown that to me many times and He will continue to do so.

“But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen you and protect you from the evil one.” 2 Thessalonians 3:3

“Know therefore that the Lord your God, He is God, the faithful God, who keeps His covenant and His lovingkindness to a thousandth generation with those who love Him and keep His commandments;” Deuteronomy 7:9

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23

Leave a Reply

