pray more, wish less

“It’s 11:11, make a wish!”

I was in the car last night and I looked at the clock and it was 11:11 and out of habit, I said the dreaded phrase. While I was making my wish, I realized that I was asking a clock to give me something only the Lord can. I wished for more knowledge and wisdom of His will for my life and guidance in everything that I do.

I was shocked with myself for believing into this lie that I can wish for something and it come true. I was putting faith into something that has no meaning and no purpose.

I just finished reading through Colossians and man, has it affected my prayer life, how I view myself, and it has made me stronger in how to share the gospel. I thought my prayer life was adequate–notice the confidence here. Verses 9-12 are very important to me right now–I am praying for wisdom to live a life that’s bringing glory to the Lord and for strength through Him for endurance and patience.

In chapter four, Paul is writing to Colossae and he tells them to devote themselves to prayer. That right there is what convicted me. Have I devoted myself to prayer? How can I devote myself to communicate with the God of the universe? Paul explains in verses 2-6 on what to pray for and how to engage in conversations with non-believers. We are to be watchful/spiritually alert and thankful when we pray.

We should be thanking our glorious Father for the many blessings He has lavished us with and asking God to prepare us for battle with the enemy.

We need to pray for open doors to meet non-believers and build relationships and share the gospel with them.

We need to pray for how we act to non-believers, making the most of every opportunity that is set before us.

We need to pray for the conversations that we have with anyone and that they are full of grace [verse 6].

So, instead of making wishes at 11:11, on shooting stars, birthday candles, wishbones, eyelashes, dandelions, and when your necklace clasp turns to the front [yes that is a thing], pray to the Lord. The God who created you. The God who loves you so much that He sent His only son to die for your sins so that you may be able to spend eternity with Him.

Keep a prayer journal and write down what you are saying to the Lord and what He is telling you. Pray when you go to sleep and when you wake up–He woke you up this morning! Prayer is a precious gift that we have to talk to our Father.

What have clocks, shooting stars, birthday candles, wishbones, eyelashes, dandelions, and necklace clasps done for you?

Leave a Reply

