I want to be uncomfortable

On Sunday I was going through my “Pray” devotion on my Bible App and for that day, I was to pray for boldness. As time is drawing closer to my mission trip to Haiti, I knew that boldness is something that The Lord wants me to work on.

Sure, I’ve been on mission trips in the past with my youth group. We went to Gulf Shores, AL for 7+ years and have developed sweet relationships with people on vacation [and with people who would plan their vacation around the time we would be there!]. We did beach evangelism. We brought bags, koozies, and sunglasses to pass out on the beach and it was a great conversation starter. We explained who we were and what we were doing in Gulf Shores [just spreading the love of Jesus!!]. We also invited kids to play and to make salvation bracelets with them. It was so familiar and over the years I got bolder and bolder.

Or did I get more comfortable?

This mission trip to Haiti is completely different and I want to bounce off the walls with excitement and sit in fetal position all at the same time. I have never set foot on an airplane. I have never been to another country–where the people don’t speak the same language as me. I am apprehensive to try food [but I’ll get over that because ya girl gets hangry]. I am totally out of my comfort zone. But I’m okay with that.

As I was reading through Acts 4, I realized how much I wanted to be like Peter and John. Peter and John are proclaiming that Jesus had resurrected from the dead–the people didn’t like that. They were arrested and put in jail because it was evening [and sacrifices ended at 4pm and the temple gates closed then]. BUT many who heard the message believed and the number of people who believed grew to FIVE THOUSAND. The previous known number of people before this time is three thousand in Acts 2:41. That means that because Peter and John obeyed the Lord to go and tell, TWO THOUSAND people put their faith in Jesus Christ and made Him their Lord and Savior.

WOW.

Later, Peter is asked how he healed the lame beggar [Acts 3:1-10]. He is filled with the Holy Spirit and he declares that it is because of Jesus–the one they crucified.

“Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.” Acts 4:12

This is clear as day where salvation is found. The elders realized that Peter and John were normal and unschooled but they could tell they had been with Jesus and that they were spirit-filled.

That is something to strive for. When others look at me, I don’t want them to see Amber. I want others [believers and nonbelievers] to see Christ.

So, the Sanhedrin [the rulers, elders, and the teachers of the law–Israel’s supreme court] start discussing what they are going to do with Peter and John. Everyone in Jerusalem knows that the lame beggar can walk and the Sanhedrin can’t deny it. The Sanhedrin command Peter and John to no longer speak or teach in the name of Jesus.

In verse 19, Peter and John asked which was right–to listen to the Sanhedrin or to listen to God.

“As for us, we cannot help speaking about what we have seen and heard. After further threats they let them go. They could not decide how to punish them, because all the people were praising God for what happened.” Acts 4:20-21

Do I have the same attitude as Peter and John? I know that when I get discouraged I just want to stop. BUT Peter and John are persistent and can’t keep quiet about what God has done. They want to go out and tell everyone about their God. And because of their obedience, the Sanhedrin couldn’t punish them because all the people were praising God.

Peter and John went back to their people and told them what the Sanhedrin told them and they all started praising God!!

The end of their prayer is what my devotion was on and it is so relevant to my life.

“Now, Lord, consider their threats and enable your servants to speak our word with great boldness. Stretch out your hand to heal and perform signs and wonders through the name of your holy servant Jesus. After they prayed, the place where they were meeting was shaken. And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and spoke the word of God boldly.” Acts 4:29-31

I cannot do anything without the Lord. HE enables me to do His will for His glory. I pray that my heart would be bold for Him. I pray for the strength to get uncomfortable to do WHATEVER to spread His name to others who have not heard of God or talk to people who choose not to believe in Him. I pray for the people in Haiti we will get to talk to and that their hearts are softened to hear what my Savior did for me. I pray for the people I know now, and will meet later, and that they are growing in their relationship with God because it is the most important relationship anyone will have.

Peter and John prayed with such faith that the place where they met was shaken. Their prayer was heard and answered immediately to fill their need to go and tell at that moment.


I want to be like Peter and John. They were out telling others about their resurrected Savior and were bold and obedient. So many people were praising God that the Sanhedrin couldn’t punish them. Peter, John, and their people prayed that God would enable them to speak His word with boldness and that He would perform signs and wonders through the name of Jesus. Where they prayed was shaken–a sign that the Lord heard their prayers and they were filled with the Holy Spirit and spoke of the word of God boldly.

This is my prayer as I am preparing to go to Haiti in ELEVEN days. This is also my prayer for my life–that I am speaking of the word of God boldly and that I am consistently seeking after Him.

I want to be used by God to glorify Him. I want to be uncomfortable.

One thought on “I want to be uncomfortable

  1. Pam says:

    Amber,
    This is all so true! You did grow bolder each year….and yes, more comfortable too! It was one of the nagging things in my head for the last 2 years as I knew it had grown too comfortable! However, I would say God still worked through it all.
    I will be praying for you to become more and more “uncomfortable”. I’ll be praying that you will be BOLD! and I’ll be praying that you will be open to “ANYTHING” the Lord has for you!
    So excited to see you continue to walk in the Lord and grow in your faith!
    Love ya!
    Pam

    Like

Leave a Reply

